The Pamir Trail

« Back to Glossary Index

**Trail Overview:**
– The Pamir Trail is a route under development, with most stages established.
– Approximately 20% of the trail still needs research.
– The map indicates the trail ranges, with 9 sections throughout the route.

**Trail Sections and Highlights:**
– Fann Mountains: Shing to Sarytag, 145.5km, with 11 stages and the highest point at Chimtarga Pass 4750m.
– Hissar Traverse: Iskanderkul to Margheb, 180km, featuring 13 stages and the highest point at Akhbakul Pass 3915m.
– Yagnob and Zerafshan: Margheb to Langar, 113.5km, with 7 stages and the highest point at Ghuzn Pass 4020m.
– East Zerafshan and Rasht: Langar to Deha-i Khoja Ali, 122km, including 7 stages and the highest point at Beob Pass 4030m.
– Karotegin Traverse, Rasht and Darvoz, Vanj and Yazgulem, Rushan, and Shugnan and Shakhdara are additional sections with varying distances, stages, and highlights.

**Trail Information and Resources:**
– Each section offers an overview map and GPX file for navigation.
– Detailed information is provided on distances, ascents, descents, and trail difficulties for each stage.
– Tour operators are available along the route for assistance.

**Trail Directions and Highlights:**
– The route includes stages with lengths, highest points, and trail difficulty levels.
– Pictures of landscapes, valleys, and key locations along the trail are showcased.
– Specific details are given for each stage, including distances, ascents, and descents.

**Trail Development and Future Plans:**
– The Vanj to Nisur section is under development, with the highest point at Khurjin Pass 4810m.
– The trail continues to expand, with new sections being developed for exploration and trekking opportunities.

« Back to Glossary Index